India has a rich tradition of recognizing and honouring outstanding achievements in various fields through prestigious awards.

India has a rich tradition of recognizing and honouring outstanding achievements in various fields through prestigious awards.

Some of the Important Awards in India

Bharat Ratna: India's highest civilian award, presented to individuals for exceptional service of the highest order in any field of human endeavour. It is given to recognize and honour the outstanding contributions and accomplishments of individuals in diverse areas, including art, literature, science, social services, public affairs, and sports.

Padma Awards: These awards are categorized into three: Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri. The Padma Awards are a set of prestigious civilian awards presented by the Government of India to recognize and honour exceptional achievements and contributions of individuals in various fields. These awards are conferred annually on the occasion of Republic Day

  • Padma Vibhushan: This is the highest category of the Padma Awards, presented for "exceptional and distinguished service." It is awarded for outstanding achievements in various fields such as arts, literature, science, social service, public affairs, and sports, among others.
  • Padma Bhushan: The Padma Bhushan is the second-highest category, awarded for "distinguished service of a high order." It is given to individuals who have made notable contributions in various fields.
  • Padma Shri: The Padma Shri is the third-highest category of the awards, conferred for "distinguished service." It is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions in various spheres.

National Film Awards: These awards are presented by the Directorate of Film Festivals, recognizing excellence in Indian cinema. The National Film Awards aim to honour and recognize excellence in Indian cinema across various languages and regions.

Arjuna Award: This award is given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, recognizing outstanding achievements in sports. The Arjuna Award is presented annually to sportspersons who have consistently performed at the national and international levels and have brought glory to the nation through their achievements.

Dronacharya Award: Presented for excellence in sports coaching and is also given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The Dronacharya Award is presented annually on National Sports Day, which is celebrated on 29th August.

Sahitya Akademi Awards: Given by the National Academy of Letters, these awards honour outstanding literary works in various Indian languages.

Jnanpith Award: It is the highest literary award in India, recognizing outstanding contributions to literature in any of the 22 recognized Indian languages.

Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards: Presented by the National Academy of Music, Dance, and Drama, these awards recognize excellence in performing arts.

Param Vir Chakra: India's highest military decoration awarded for acts of valour during wartime.

Ashoka Chakra: This peacetime equivalent of the Param Vir Chakra is awarded for acts of valour, courage, or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield.

Kirti Chakra: The Kirti Chakra is an Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courage, and self-sacrifice during wartime or in the face of the enemy. It is one of the highest peacetime gallantry awards in India, ranking just below the Ashoka Chakra and the Param Vir Chakra.

Shaurya Chakra: The Shaurya Chakra is a military decoration awarded by the Indian government to members of the armed forces for acts of bravery, valour, and self-sacrifice in the face of the enemy. It is one of the peacetime gallantry awards and ranks third in the order of precedence among the gallantry awards in India, following the Param Vir Chakra and the Mahavir Chakra

National Bravery Awards: Presented by the Indian Council for Child Welfare, these awards recognize children who have displayed exceptional bravery.

These are just a few of the important awards in India. There are many other regional and industry-specific awards that recognize excellence and contributions in various domains.

Important Links

LB Desk

LB Desk

Legal Bites Correspondent.

Next Story