High Court is the ‘Highest Judicial Court’ in an Indian State and all other Courts of the State work under it.

High Court is the ‘Highest Judicial Court’ in an Indian State and all other Courts of the State work under it. It is termed as the second-highest in the country after the Supreme Court of India.

The High Court is the highest court in a state in India. Articles 214 to 231 in the Indian Constitution talk about the High Courts, their organisation and powers. The Parliament can also provide for the establishment of one High Court for two or more states.

According to Article 214, each state of India shall have a High Court. However, Article 231 also mentions that there can be a common High Court for two or more States or for two or more states and a union territory. There are 25 High Courts in India, six having control over more than one State/UT. Delhi has a High Court of its own among the Union Territories. Each High Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and such other judges as appointed by the President of India.

List of High Courts of India

There are 25 High Courts present in India. The list of High Courts of India is given below:

Year Name Territorial Jurisdiction Seat & Bench
1862 Bombay
  1. Maharashtra
  2. Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman Diu
  3. Goa
Seat: Mumbai

Bench: Panaji, Aurangabad, and Nagpur

1862 Kolkata
  1. West Bengal
  2. Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Seat: Kolkata

Bench: Port Blair

1862 Madras
  1. Tamil Nadu
  2. Pondicherry

Seat: Chennai

Bench: Madurai

1866 Allahabad Uttar Pradesh Seat: Allahabad

Bench: Lucknow

1884 Karnataka Karnataka Seat: Bengaluru

Bench: Dharwad and Gulbarga

1916 Patna Bihar Patna
1948 Guwahati
  1. Assam
  2. Nagaland


  3. Arunachal Pradesh

Seat: Guwahati

Bench: Kohima, Aizawl, and Itanagar

1949 Odisha Odisha Cuttack
1949 Rajasthan Rajasthan Seat: Jodhpur

Bench: Jaipur

1956 Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Seat: Jabalpur

Bench: Gwalior and Indore

1958 Kerala Kerala & Lakshadweep Ernakulam
1960 Gujarat Gujarat Ahmedabad
1966 Delhi Delhi Delhi
1971 Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Shimla
1975 Punjab & Haryana Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh Chandigarh
1975 Sikkim Sikkim Gangtok
2000 Chhattisgarh Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
2000 Uttarakhand Uttarakhand Nainital
2000 Jharkhand Jharkhand Ranchi
2013 Tripura Tripura Agartala
2013 Manipur Manipur Imphal
2013 Meghalaya Meghalaya Shillong
2019 Telangana Telangana Hyderabad
2019 Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Amravati
2019 Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh

(Note: In 1928, Jammu & Kashmir High Court was established. Post-bi-furcation of J&K into two union territories; there is now a common high court.)

Jammu and Kashmir



  1. Law Library: Notes and Study Material for LLB, LLM, Judiciary and Entrance Exams
  2. Law Aspirants – Ultimate Test Prep Destination
Updated On 29 March 2024 2:32 AM GMT
Law Aspirants

Law Aspirants

Best Exam Preparation Platform for all competitive Law Exams. Prepare Practice and Go Beyond at https://www.lawaspirants.com/

Next Story