In this article, we will learn about the names and capital of states and Union territories of India.

In this article, we will learn about the names and capitals of states and Union territories of India.

States and Union Territories of India

India is the seventh-largest country in the world and also the second most populous. It lies in southern Asia. It is officially known as the Republic of India. It is governed by a parliamentary form of government. It gets very difficult to manage a large country from one place. So the Indian Constitution gives the right to the central government to make states as they feel suitable.

The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

List of States in India

S. No. Name Name of Capital
1 Andhra Pradesh Amaravati
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 Assam Dispur
4 Bihar Patna
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur
6 Goa Panaji
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar
8 Haryana Chandigarh
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
10 Jharkhand Ranchi
11 Karnataka Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore)
12 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
13 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
14 Maharashtra Mumbai
15 Manipur Imphal
16 Meghalaya Shillong
17 Mizoram Aizawl
18 Nagaland Kohima
19 Odisha Bhubaneswar
20 Punjab Chandigarh
21 Rajasthan Jaipur
22 Sikkim Gangtok
23 Tamil Nadu Chennai
24 Telangana Hyderabad
25 Tripura Agartala
26 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
27 Uttarakhand Dehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
28 West Bengal Kolkata

List of Union Territories in India

Union Territories are ruled directly by the Central Government has a Lieutenant Governor as an administrator, who is the representative of the President of India and appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. Union Territories have no representation in the Rajya Sabha except Delhi and Puducherry.

The Administrator of each Union territory has a functional responsibility independent of his peer Administrators in other Union territories. The Union territories are further sub-divided into smaller administrative blocks for effective governance. Villages form the smallest area of administration. Each village has a representative administrative Gram Panchayat. A Gram Panchayat may have administrative control of a number of villages.

S. No. Name Name of Capital
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu Daman
4 The Government of NCT of Delhi Delhi
5 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (Summer)

Jammu (Winter)

6 Ladakh Leh
7 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
8 Puducherry Puducherry

  1. Law Library: Notes and Study Material for LLB, LLM, Judiciary and Entrance Exams
  2. Legal Bites Academy – Ultimate Test Prep Destination
Updated On 28 March 2024 8:10 AM GMT
LB Desk

LB Desk

Legal Bites Correspondent.

Next Story